People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

From where do our attributes and characters come from? This is question of debate for long time and a subject of moot. Here, in the prompt, two sources determining character of any problem are identified: internal ingrained attributes and external environment. In my view, i mostly agree that in our initial infant phase of life internal factors are dominant whereas, as we develop and progress in life physically and mentally, external factors come into play for building our attributes and characters. Following are initial concession as well as two persuasive argument points to make my stand persuasive.

Admittedly, in our early phase of life, our characters depend upon information in our genetic codes. Due to heredity characteristics, we tend to act like our parents and our characters are similar to that of our parents. For instance, belligerent parents tend to have fractious infants. So, at unsullied phase of our life, characters are determined by our attributes entrenched in our DNA code which is transferred from our parents.

However, as we become older and mature, external factors come into play. We slowly defy our natural attributes to adapt changing environment. Without adaptation we cease to exist. For instance, an opulent child in Nepal is forced to cede his lavish lifestyle and learn to survive like a middle class, once he reach USA for further study. In doing so he has to change his inner attributes and eccentricities to survive in this changing environment. So such mutation is necessary for our survival.

Similarly, in genetic science, mutation is most favored by nature and "survival of fittest" prevails. In order to survive, flora and fauna have to develop feature so that they can survive harsh environment. Similarly in humans as well, adaptation is favored. People having extraordinary characteristics are successful in their life. So, external factors compel us to change our attribute so that we become successful and extraordinary in our life.

In conclusion, the subject matter is complex and more study (probably in term of systematic research) is required to accurately predict where do our character comes from. But, as we stand today, the most dominant factor has turned out to be external factors rather than internal one.