To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Should the leaders have highest ethical and moral standards? The topic is quiet debatable. Here, the prompt asserts that leaders should have highest moral and ethical standards to be more effective. However, i mostly agree with the contention and defend my thesis based on two persuasive argument with evidene and further provide qualification regarding when my thesis may be subverted in some scenarios.

Firstly, the main duty and responsibility of a leader is to, not only guide others towards the common goals but also to be as an idol and inspire people to be just like him. The leaders are considered sucessful if he can persuade others in believing that his ideology will lead to goal for bright future to the extent that his followers will build character of the leader himself for achieving the goal. It is because, if a leader will not have highest moral and ethical standards, people will not believe in him and even such character may dissuade his followers to forgo the support. Similarly, for those who blindly support the leader, ethically immoral character of a leader will make followers make fallacious assumption about the leader and try to emulate the character leader has.

Secondly, moral and ethical standards inherited by the leader act as a measure to judge his overall ideology. The good moral and ethical standard could be indicator of how strong his leadership and ideology is. For instance, Mahathma Gandhi had his ideology of peaceful movement against the Britist and people used to follow him because he had strong moral and ethical conduct. If he had not been munificient and amicable to every people, people would not have followed his ideology. So due to the result of his kind and generous character, he was inpsiring and idol for many people not only of his time but also for youth of today.

Admittedly however, a leader would not require maintain moral and ethical standards. Specially in case of facism and when people are brainwashed in believing that their leader is ever caring and benevolent, the leader need not require any moral standard or ethics to maintain. He can just spread false roumer about him being a feirce leader, helper of the poor and enemy of devi to make his leadership effective.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers. However, glancing upon various opposing views on issue, the leaders having high moral and ethical standards outweigh those who do not consider having moral and ethical standard as important part of their leadership but in some case however, there is no need to show moral and ethical standards.