The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Firstly, will the prediction of forecaster turn out to be true about continuation of such abnormal temperature in next five year? What factor was taken into account on making this prediction? Here, the author, to make his statement justifiable, assumes that the temperature will fall below the normal temperature for next year as per the prediction made by the climate forecaster. But, this may not be the case. Unprecedented scenario may occur in that region that may result in dramatic increase in temperature well above the normal level. May be, sun radiation increases in North Eastern Area thereby, increasing the overall temperature of the place. Perhaps, hot wind may come form the eastern part of world warming the temperature of place. For all we know, there may be occurrance of dramatic increase in temperature due to global warming effects. So, assuming that the predictor will be correct is premature. If any of the above scenario has any merit, then conclusion drawn from original argument is dramatically undermined.

Secondly, even if the prediction will turn out to be true, will the recent population growth result in new home and, consequently increase demand of the oil? In other word, is the population growth an indicator of raise in demand of oil in the region? Here, the author fallaciously assumes that the population growth is closely tied to increase in new houses. This may not be the case. Conceivably, people may decide not to build their new home in such a cold place. It is possible that they may migrate to other warmer place after this news will break. So, the author must give enough evidence regarding such seemingly specious link which may not correlate at all. If above are true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, Even if, the people in the region build their new house and prediction of forecaster is true, will they buy the heating oil? Aren't their other way by which they can warm themselves? Author is assuming that heating oil will only be viable option for the people in region. This may not be the case. Perhaps, new electronic company invest heavily in the region and people may be inclined to the electronic good rather than the oil. What if, people are unable to go out and buy the oil due to extream cold climate and instead, use online shopping method to buy some other way to heat themselves? If any of the above is true, the conclusion of increase in the sale of oil in region will daramatically subverted.

To conclude, the arguement as it stands is severly flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. However, if the author is able to give answers to these three questions with evidence (probably in term of systematic research) then evaluation of the conclusion that the oil will be sucessful in next five years is possible.