The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memorandum from business manager, it is concluded that the news channel should resume its local and weather news coverage to attract more viewers and to avoid losing advertisement companies. The manager justifies the recommendation based on three premises: number of complaints received from local and weather news viewers and decline in advertisement from local businesses. However, before the assertion can be fully evaluated, the manager must justify his following three assumptions with compelling evidences.

Firstly, the manager assumes, illogically, that absence of local and weather news is only factor due to which local advertisers stopped advertising their goods in the news channel. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, content and agenda shown in the news channels doesn't align with that of those local businessmen. May be, the local business had went bankrupt due to losses and doesn't want to invest money on advertisement. If above is true, the argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the manager fallaciously assumes that no outside firm, other than that of local firms, signed contract with the channel to advertise their product. It could be possible that new foreign company, seeing the channel's prioritization of international news, started advertising in the news channel. For all we know, it may be possible that sports related firm did contract with the channel due to its extensive coverage on sports news. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn from original argument is significantly undermined.

Finally, even if the manager justifies above assumptions with compelling evidences, he assumes that the local business firm will continue their advertisement contract with the channel if they start telecasting local and weather news. However, this may not be true. There is chance that the businessmen who stopped their advertisement from the channel will never return again. It may even be possible that the nexus of local businessmen become unanimous and collectively discard the news channel. If this is true then broadcasting local news again will not be so fruitful.

In conclusion, argument as it stands, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. However, if the manager justifies aforementioned assumptions with compelling evidences (probably in terms of systematic research), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation of broadcasting local and weather news again.