35) The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter from the owner, the author concludes that, by restricting flow of water through the showerheads in rest of the buildings, water bills can be significantly saved. The conclusion is drawn on basis of premise: result of implementation in first three apartments. Before fully evaluating the recommendation, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, will the restriction in maximum water flow result in low consumption of water? The author, fallaciously, assumes that by restricting maximum flow will result in low consumption of water by the dwellers. However, this might not be the case. It is possible that users in the three buildings collect water before bathing due to low water pressure. It may be possible that the pressure is sufficient for the most of the users and only few of them experience low water pressure in showerheads. Conceivably, it might be possible that they use tap instead of showerhead for bathing. For all we know, use of tap might increase the water consumptions by the people. If any of the following scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn from original argument is seriously flawed.

Secondly, what proportion of total cost of the corporation comes from water bill? The author fails to give evidence regarding significance of water bill on overall cost of the corporation assuming that water bills are indispensable in accounting the overall cost. This, however, might not be true. For instance, normal water bill could be too low and it is redundant comparing total cost of the corporation. Perhaps, cost implementing the recommendation (installing the water valves and restricting devices) outweigh the saving so overestimating the water bill may even lead to hampering overall growth of the company. If either of above is true then argument does not hold water.

Finally even if the author provides evidences regarding above questions, will the consumers there continue live in the apartment after they impose the law? The author speciously claims that the consumers will not be enraged by this policy. This may not be the case. This implementation may cause irritation in the dwellers and may leave the housing. For all we know, the house dwellers may find new housing companies with better water facilities. If any of the above is true, then the recommendation can be outright rejected.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, has rife of holes and flaws as it relies on several unwarranted assumptions. However, if the author is able to provide answers to above three questions with evidence (probably in term of systematic research) then the recommendation of restricting water flow on other housing can be fully evaluated.