People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

When we introspect ourselves, we may find that we have unique attributes and eccentries. What are the factors determine what character and attribute we posses? This is quiet debatable. Here, the author of the prompt explicitly asserts that the character we posses is due to external factor rather than personal one. I mostly agree with the contention and defend my thesis pointing out two arguments with evidences. I also present a concession when my thesis may be dramatically subverted in some scenario.

Firstly, the character anyone possess till now is culmination of various external factors effecting the person and the character is largely depend upon the external environment he is living in rather than that of entrenched attributes he had got from the birth. By reacting to various external factors, the character building process starts from day of birth and never stops in life. So as a result of this process, character largely depend upon the environment, time and scenario he is living in. For instance, the character possessed by rich kid is different from that of rustic one. Similarly, character possessed by orphan is different from that of children having parents. So, external factor helps shaping individual's character by constantly testing the individual at various stage of his life.

Secondly, if we dive deep into the concept of evolution, we may find that mutation acts as advantageous trait for survival. While it is true that the characters any being possess are inherited from parents; however, without modification of character, it may will not adapt to the sorrounding it is living in. So, mutation is gravely essential for any living being to change previously flawed characters inherited and acquire new trait for surviving the sorrounding. This concept also plays great role in character building process our ordinary life as well. It is our nature to develop character based on our sorrounding so that we survive the environment we are exposed in.

Admittedly, since all have free-will, it is our responsibility to build strong character so that we adjust in our sorrounding. Having freedom may act as both merit and demerit for the individual. For instance, exposure depressing environment may lead to similarly dolorous and emotional character in the individual. Similarly, billegerent environment may lead to establishing similar argumentative character. Hence, it is individual's own responsibility to expose in more optimum sorrounding.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers. But, glancing on juxtaposition of two opposing view and also due to aforementioned reasons, the external environment is more likely to shape any one than that of his own making. However, it is personal responsibility to identify and expose optimum environment for individual to live in.