Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways no speaker or reformer ever could.

Sometimes unknown problems come to us in such a bizarre way that we never think of. Here, the prompt tells us that the best way to elucidate unprecedented, bizarre problems through scandals rather than rhetoric from reformer or, some eminent person. I mostly agree with this claim for two main reasons.

most of the contents in media (especially TV media) are based on entertainment and their main motive is to earn through TRP rating because as more viewers means more rating and which results in more revenue. this is why they try to make the scandal issue more intriguing to the viewers. due to this fact, the viewer get fascinated by the news and thereby, unprecedented problems underlying scandals becomes acquainted by many people across the globe. For instance, scandal regarding Facebook became viral after news broke out which resulted millions of viewer became aware of unknown issue of data smuggling, which was mentioned previously by many speakers. so due to compelling presentation from media, there is high chance of unknown problem to be flashed rather than quotidian rhetoric from any other speaker.

due to the fact that people think most of the speaker are biased, even if they try to reveal any problem to the people, they don't really take them much seriously. For instance, in previous presidental election, there was two-way diatribe between candidates: Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. even if, they both accused one other in various issues, people didn't really cared about them. but, when media broke news about Trumph's collusion with prostitute with sufficent evidence, people began to realize, how big of problem their president actually is. so, due to biased nature of human, no matter how the persuasive the rhetoric is, people will still believe that there is hidden motive behind their seemingly connive speech.

however, in some cases, the speaker do tend to focus attention toward problems that haven't been faced yet. Specially looking back at history, we can read about influential ruler or reformer ,who the people undubtedly accolade and think them being veracious, brought some problem up front that no one would have ever guessed. For instance, the speech of Martin Luther King lured, not only black people, but also enticed white one, to join fight against discrimination on racial issue, before which many people thought it as mere agenda. Thus, through influential people ,however, it is possible that it brings important issue aboveboard to analyse and ponder on.

In conclusion, in most of the cases, scandals do focus attention on problems more effectively than any rhetoric does. it is actually quiet complex topic, however, as today's scenario indicate, scandals are proven very effective to raise important issue aboveboard.