Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Over 99 percent of species are extinct during the course of time between the commencement of the unicellular organism to present mammal dominated era. Extinction of species is commonplace given the nature of evolution and natural selection. Here, the prompt advocates that we must protect the species, whom we have directly effected to the extend that they are in verge of extinction. However, in my view it is futile to protect any so-called " endangered species" whether their extinction is caused by us or by other environmental factor. I will defend my theis based on three arguments and present my arguments as persuasive as possible by providing various evidences to support my thesis.

Firstly, we should not be ashamed of changing the environment as per our need of survival. Every organism in the ecosystem alters the environment and it is pivotal for us, as it helps us to survive and thrive in long run. Admittedly, we alter the sorrounding far more than that of other organism and also destryed various species due to industralization, infrastructure development and agriculture; however, we are also the part of the ecosystem and we have every right to do so as other beings have.For instance, beaver builds dam on the lake to search for food for survival. It, in turn, destroys whole ecosystem of the lake mainly aquatic ecosystem.So, for survival it is no shame to alter the sorrounding according to need as it is natural part of the ecosystem.

Secondly, extinction is mechanism in which natural selection perish those who do not have survival traits and reward those who are strong and have capability to adapt to the enviornment with the help of their useful triats. This natural process and we have no control over it. Over 99 percent of species in the world are extinct and those which survive today will eventually die out. So the term "endangered species" doesn't have any significance as all living being now are vulnerable to be extinct. In fact, must think of survival of ourself in future rather than spending valuable resources on the species which will die out eventually. For instance, dinosour became extinct after astroid hit earth but other species survive. If similar threat is repeats then we are doomed to be extinct. So we must prepare ourself for those event to occur so that we survive. In doing so we may even protect other species as well.

The opponent of my thesis may argue that extinction of endangered species, whether it is caused by humans or by external factors, holds moral obligation of protecting them. However, why they do not advocate on protecting biodiversity comprising of HIV, ebola and malaria ? They are also part of biodiversity, as are elephants, Bengal tigers, panda and one-horned rhino. In fact, the extinction doesn't actually carry moral significance irrespective of the cause of those extinctions. Those who claim that we have moral significance for protecting "endangered species" are misguided at best and hypocritical at worse.