In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Who can make significant contribution in any field? This is question of debate and moot subject today. The author of prompt advocates that begineers are more likely to make contribution in any field. However, in my view, past experience in any field is imperial for making any contribution in that field and I am defending my thesis based on two argument points with their evidences and concession on when my thesis may be weakened.

Firstly, people with past experience in any field are more prioritized and lauded in society than any begineer. While this may be prejudiced, it is actually justifiable given risk involve specially to hire novice in job market. This results in more opportunites for experienced rather than that of fledgling youth. For instance, in civil engineering field, experienced engineer has more demand than a new one so this creates enough opportunity for experienced civil engineer to excell in his field. So, experienced person can make significant contribution given the opportunity he may get in his field and for new prodigy there is far less chance than experienced one.

Secondly, the experienced person who have better understanding of their field-- the flaws, advantages, disadvantages and scopes-- can contribute in many ways as he is already exposed in the field. He can indentify the flaws of his field and take part in research to remove these faults and errors. He can even purpose new theories on his field. For instance, a experienced person in computer engineering can find flaws in the operating system and move even further and can try to find remedy in the flaws. So, experience bring deep knowledge in respective field which provides basis for improving his field of study which a new one cannot.

Admittedly, most of the great inventors are no where expert in any field. For instance, Albert Einstien, who defined gravity in unconventional way, was a clerk at that time and Mark Zuckerberg was ordinary student when he started creating largest social networking site. It is true that most of the scientific inventions and discoveries were just by product of some other scientific research. However, even though they were not "experts" in conventional sense but, they had knowledge and their own vision of taking subject matter differently than other do. Even though they didn't have past experience on respective field, they were actually genius and prolific at that time.

In conclusion, the issue is very complex and no vivid verdict can be made on whether naive prodigy can contribute in any field or experienced can. But, above arguments and evidences shows that the experienced one has more chance of contributing in any field then that of begineer.