Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

How to ensure that student studying in university are truly educated? Does learning underlying concepts and theories only on the subject of major make student completely educated? Or having knowledge in diverse educational field makes them educated. This topic is subject of moot. Here, the author of prompt claims that the best way to be assured that student are truly educated is to entailing university students to take variety of course outside his field. I mostly agree with the contention and defend my thesis based on two persuasive argument with evidence and also provide qualification that first priority should be to be perfect in the subject of major.

Firstly, having outside knowledge apart from acedemics is advantageous in many ways. One of the advantage of having knowledge on diverse field is that some of the flaws and problems incurred in our own acedemic field can be solved with the help of concepts and tools provided by compeletely different field of education. For instance, the CAD softwares which is related to computer field replaced rigorous manual drawing of engineering field. Similarly, various tools in mathematics and statstics are used in solving various problems in other field like engineering, accounting, law and political field. So, having outside knowledge is very fruitful in contributing in any field by solving underlying flaws and mistakes.

Secondly, study of our particular major field makes our learning provincial as they gives us knowledge that we require in future in securing job. In other hand, if we step outside of our acedemic field, we may find many other field more interesting and suited for us. So it can help in providing insight to various field of education and thereby, helps in changing our major in interested field. For instance, a mechanical engineer may find artwork more compelling and may also find out that he even has skill to perform some artistic creation. So, looking at his ability, he can shift his field of education from mechanical engineering to art. So, exploring various field may help us to find our true field which we are more interesting and subject we are best at.

Admittedly however, student should give first priority to his acedemics. Students should not stray away from his subject matter. It may cause decline in his grade and overall performance in his own subject. It is best to first have profound knowledge on the subject matter of our field and then look to other field for educating ourselves.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers to the question of taking interest on other field of education. However, glancing on juxtaposition of two opposing view, knowledge of diverse field have more merit than adhering to same field.