Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning

What does competition for grades do to the students? Does it prove to be inspiring or stressful for students? These questions are quiet debatable in present context. Here, the prompt explicitly asserts that there are two opposing views regarding aforementioned questions: some believing competition has merit for students while other believe that competition does more harm than good. I mostly agree with the first part of the assertion and defend my thesis based on two compelling argument with evidence. Concession is also presented to show that sometimes competition is unfavourable for some students.

Firstly, competition is fundamental part of nature which incorporates all living beings alive. Competition is part of natural selection --the process where healthier and strong beings prevail wherelse weak and fragile one gets extinct.Humans are also part of nature though different from other beings and this rule of nature is also applicable in students life where assiduous and deligient students thrive wherelse weak and inept students fail in the system.

Secondly, in today's contemporary world, competition is very much high in every field. Since job market has been shrunk in almost every part of the world, companies seek for students who stand out among the others. So, grade of student is very much important for the corporate and companies to get astute employee for the company. So, competition to be better than others, in their field of study, helps students to get motivated for better job in their career.

Admittedly, in some cases, grading system and competition prove disadvantageous for student as they may astray away from real learning. They may focus on grades rather than their course of study. It may even bring stress to the students thereby, limiting quality of learning.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers. However, glancing upon juxtaposition of both opposing views, we find that competition for grades ,in most of the cases, prove fruitful for the student while ,in some of the cases, it does more harm than good.