138. Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning. 事实Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely

Some people assert that competition can motive students to get a better academic performance in the classroom, while others believe that competition seriously impede students' real learning. I agree with both ideas and would go further to say that: moderate competition contributes to the better academic results, but excessive competition proved counterproductive. Furthermore, students should regard competition as means of self-stimulating and self-improvement and competition itself should not become the focus of attention.

To start with, i agree with the view that competition for high grades stimulates students' better schorlarly performance, and more precisely moderate competition rather than over-competition. Contest is the part of human nature and throughout history humans constantly compete not only for material things, but also for glories and honors. In students' mind high grades are such things and they occupy a sacred place because they equate to a better ranking, teachers' praise, parents' expectations and classmates' admiring. All students want to get the highest score and win the first place among the classmate. As a result, this goal encourages students to work harder and devote themselves wholeheartedly in studies. The students who obtained the first place will keep working hard to save the leading position. And the other students who failed this time, wil strive hard to make greater process next time. Hence the competition among students promotes a strong learning atsmosphere, which improves all students' academic record.

On the other hand, that competition might play a counterproductive role because it makes student become more bellligerent and susceptible to depression , just as other people contend. In addition, that limit the quality of real learnning if students fail to deal with the negative aspects brought by excessive competition. These negative effects include mental and physical disease. Stress, anxiety, anger, for instances, many students claimed that they have experienced emotional depression while they are preparing for the competition. Sometimes, mental pressure results in physical diseases, such as insomnia, decrease in immunity. More extremely, students improperly handling these pressures tend face at more disastrous problems, such as drug addiction. A recent report on students' learning habits disclosed that many students are taking "smart drugs" to enhance their abilities of memory and reflection, thus they can obtain a better result in Gaoka. It turns out that " smart drugs" is a soft drug and students taking them frequently will be addicted. It is inadvisable even illegal to win a temporary competition by taking drugs. Although peope may argue that competition itself is not to blame, It is true that competition do have negative effects on students especially when it is too imprudent for students to handle.

As both parts have reasons, and competition is a double-edged sword. Some people might confuse aboute the nature of competition, about the limit between its advantages and disadvantages and about the right attitude toward it. First, I tend to say that the nature of competition is a process and not a result, is a minor, by looking into which students can show their weaknesses and strengths. Second, there is not a clear line between its positive and negative sides, and everyone has their own balance, but the minimum threshold is that competition itself should never be the focus of attention. Prioritizing competitions for higher grades over other things like health, families, friendship and moral standards, produces regrettable results. Third, how can youngsters properly deal with contest and its side effects ? My suggestion is always thinking a bigger picture. It is important for students to keep in mind that contest for higher grades only ephemeral period of school times, and in contrast cooperation between colleagues, negotiation with clients will become the mainstream of lasting working times.

In conclusion, my stance aligns with both sides of views and tend to associate two sides into one argument that moderate competition kindles students' learning passion, but immoderate competition harms students' mental and physical health. By thinking competition as a process and carrying a comprehensive picture of life, students could cultivate in themselves in a right attitude towards competition.