1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, ar

The author of this argument claims that Palean baskets were not uniquely in Palea for the reasons that Palean baskets also found in Lithos as well as there was no Palean boats have been found. Although this argument seems feasible, it is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

At the first place, the absence of boats in the Palea vestige does not mean that Pelean did not have boats previously. Perhaps the boats, which are usually made by wood, have been disintegrated after being placed for a long time. Or perhaps the boats were transported to another place. The researchers need more evidence about the possible immigration of Palean people and probably existing rotten wood are the vestige of previous boats. In addition, Palean residents may have other tools to go through the Brim River and the evidence about the existence of these tools is not presented. Thus, the absence of boats needs to be proved with reasonable and complete evidence.

Secondly, the argument never addresses the existence of communication between Palea and Lithos. The argument supposes that the absence of boats represents the fact that there were no boats used in Palea, the author neglects a strong possibility that there were boats used in Lithos and residents of Lithos have the tools and the ability to pass through the Brim River. Without ruling out this possibility, the condition that Palean baskets were transported to Lithos may be true and the argument is wrong.

At the third place, If we make an assumption that there was no communication between Palea and Lithos, the distinctive pattern of Palean baskets cannot be explained by the conclusion of the argument. The event that two villages have independently made baskets with the absolutely same pattern has an infinite small possibility.

Thus the argument is not completely sound. However, the argument might have been strengthened by the archaeologists should firstly preclude the possible conditions that the baskets were transported by nature force. Maybe this basket floated in a flood and was transported by streams of the Brim River or was blown away by the wind. After all, one basket, whose number is too small, can be more easily explained by accidents rather than by human-made.