To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addre

nowadays, it is controversial whether an effective leader must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. Some people hold a view that a public official must be ethical and moral since he or she should be the face of the nation. However, I personally argue that having the highest moral and ethical standards cannot be a pivotal factor that qualifies an effective leader; his or her achievement should also be the factor that we should concentrate on.

On the one hand, an efficacious chief who have the highest ethical and moral standards usually gain more admiration from society. For example, in my country, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh was considered as an acclaimed politician in my country. As the first chairman of Vietnam who took a vital role in establishing independence for my country, he has been highly lauded as one of the most effective and greatest leaders in the country. As the chairman, he denied accepting a salary and lived in a small house so that he could maintain his image of a selfless leader. Moreover, he used to be a model of a modest and saving leader. Because of his aspects of moral and ethnic, many Vietnamese still praise him as one of the most powerful and effective leaders of Vietnam. Therefore, maintaining the features of high moral and ethnic standards can be a prerequisite to becoming an effective leader.

On the other hand, there are some leaders who are regarded as effective leader despite their low ethical and moral value. For example, in world war II, when there were many attacks happening in many countries which not only damaged the property but also cause detrimental effects to the people in these countries. As a result, there were many secret campaigns and experiments which were processing with the permission of the head of the countries try to develop the novel weapons and biochemical could defeat the enemies. Although these decisions could be not moral and ethical solutions, the result of it was to stop the war and protect their citizens so these leaders still have been esteemed by their people. Therefore, the achievements of a public official can also be an important factor to measure the effectiveness of the leader.

In addition, a leader sometimes has to face the real-life dilemmas between that he wants to keep his ethical and moral standards or he has to sacrifice his image to protect something more important. For example, In the Vietnam War, the Vo Nguyen Giap leader used to be considered as an immoral general when he decided withdrew all the army when everything already was set. Although his decision wasted not only time, money and some soldiers died when doing that, finally when he won the battle in DienBienPhu castle which is the one markable milestone of Vietnam history and play an important part of leading to America withdraw the enemy out of Vietnam. Therefore, simply having the highest moral and ethical aspects cannot be enough to determine the effectiveness of a public official.

In conclusion, maintaining the highest ethical and moral standards should is no indicator of an effective leader. Other aspects such as an achievement should be taken into consideration.