To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

from my perspective, I do not agree totally with the claim that meaningful features of the nation are only observed in its big cities. Although it is no doubt that the major cities have many figures for finding the important characteristics, there are still other factors.

on the one hand, in term of big cities, nowadays in the age of global modernization, the urban area is a place to easily approach the significant characters of a nation. One of the reason is that most citizens, who consist the society actually, live in a metropolis. The lifestyle of citizens is one of the indispensable checkpoints when we investigate a nation. As the city where many fundamental buildings, technology, art or even politics assemble such as subway, market, theater, etc. For examples, when we come to France, we do not need to go many places just stay and conquest in Paris then you almost know the beauty and main features of France such as they have many unique and magnificent buildings and also feel the romance inside French people.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that it would be narrowed-mind when we just examine the metropolitan city if we want to explore more about the main characteristics of a country. There are few reasons why I do not agree with the given statement, the primary reason is that not even in the big cities which have many skyscrapers, politics or people, but also in the rural areas we could find many interesting things which are preserved through many generations. That must be significant cultural factors we need to study. Like in Vietnam, for example, is a developing country, there is still many unique customs in the countryside which is more attractive experts from abroad to study than in the big cities, such as the custom making a square sticky rice in Tet holiday which is an important holiday marking the end of the year following the lunar calendar often happens in February, making this cake carries many means which reveals the respect for ancestors or the hopes a considerable fortune in the coming year. In addition, the big cities today do not have differences between the other cities from other countries cause the globalization making every the city have same infrastructure such high building, high way, the chains of designed clothed, entertainment place or traffic system. To illustration, Disneyland was one of the most noticeable images of America but in the present, we could go to Disneyland Park in Japan, Australia or Singapore and acquire the same experience when an American one.

In conclusion, as we can see that to understand the important characteristics of society one need to study both city and rural areas. As society is not only about the buildings, the traffic system, but also the culture and life in a rural place.