To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Buildings, Technologies, Highways, Multiplexes, Clubs, Street Lights, Industries alone cannot make one society unless we have people in this group of systems. So, people are the center point of any society. Hence, when we want to understand one society we would like to know more about the life of the people in that society. The important characteristic of any society is based on its cultural aspect, financial aspect, quality of life and overall progressiveness. Therefore, if we want to understand these important characteristics of society we need to delve into all these aspects of life. Considering this I defer with the view of the author for this issue. While I do believe that major cities are interesting places to learn about society, we might not get the correct and complete picture if we only limit ourselves to major cities. In order to analyze all these aspects and how it would influence this subject we need to explore them profoundly.

Firstly, talking about the cultural aspect, we need to know the religion, different prevailing languages, dressing habit, food habit of society. On all these attributes major cities might look completely different than suburbs or rural areas. Take for example in India, where more than 70% of people still leave in rural areas. In cities, we can mostly see the same kind of western dress habit, fast food habit, common language dominancy like English. In cities, busy people hardly get time to think about the cultural aspects or religious rituals. Conversely, in rural areas or suburbs, we would still be able to find old religious ritual practices, regional homemade food habits. The language might also be different in different locations. Even dressing habit can give a glimpse of the culture in rural areas. Where people still use handmade, ardent with decorative designs outfit during special occasions. Hence, to get the complete picture of how the culture of the society is flourishing or abolishing someone needs to study both rural areas as well as major cities.

Secondly, another important attribute of society is its financial health. How people are earning their livelihood. How much percentage of the population is leaving below poverty level against moderately income people? Also, how much of society is very rich. Studying major cities will not be sufficient to understand this attribute. Because cities are generally formed around a source of jobs or industries. Hence it is evident that most of the residents of the cities are either moderately wealthy or highly rich people. But if we turn around to rural areas or suburban areas we would have a different figure and statistics. People might be working assiduously but earning very little. Hence, to judge the financial health of any society we need to examine the city as well as rural areas. Because society is made of all the people irrespective of where they live.

Another important attribute is the quality of life. If overall people are leading a happy life or they are in some terrible challenge and fighting to get the basic necessities: food, shelter or healthy environment. How are the work and personal life balance for society? How is the environment of living for society? If we study cities then we might be discovering that people are leaving very busy and mechanical life. They are struggling for work and personal life balance. On the contrary, in rural areas life passes slower but they are struggling to get the basic necessities. We can not conclude saying if the society is leaving happily or hastily only watching towards the major cities. So the overall picture is again formed considering rural and city life both.

Last but not least is how progressive is the society. "Progressive" word always gives a notion to us as of technological progress. While it is definitely one part of the progressive society, there are other spheres where society has to prove its performance. Like Literature, arts, music and other academics fields. These fields can give a fair idea of how is the cultural progress of society. Most importantly, over time is the quality of life improving, people can lead their life easier with happiness and contribute to the larger benefit of the society. These factors are critical in the characteristics of any society. That cannot be discerned only studying major cities. One need to deep dive into every aspect of life in city, suburbs and rural areas to get the complete picture.

So, as we can see that to understand the important characteristics of society one need to study both city and rural life. As society is nothing but a group of people and their life. Hence, we need to know about people and their life be it in a city or in a rural place.