Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational Institutions are the doorsteps of adulthood for the students. It plays a crucial role in grooming and preparing students to get ready for their future.Though the given claim seems to be effective and good for students but it is butressed on many assumptions. Moreover the statement seems very generalized for a bigger and significant issue. In such issues, case by case analysis would be the best way to address.

Firstly, It is correct that Edcucational Institution can help student to decide the correct field of study in which they have better chances of success. But that depends on the credibility and expertise of institutions in predicting case by case. If the Educational Institution has enough experience and correct consultants who can have insight of historical data and future market trends then they can guide student in deciding their specialization or field of interest. On the other had if the institution is naive in the field then it might not be able to guide students effectively.

Secondly, even with all prediction,it can not be 100% correct for all cases. It might be true that the student has developed the interest after selecting the field of the study and then do tremendously well. On the same case the school might have dissuaded to select different field. Apart from the school recommendation there should be some flexibility to the student to try and test their capability and interest for both the fields: one which is recommended by school and the other is self decided.

On contrary, it might be also argued that since students have very narrowed vision and limited knowledge about any field and practically it is impossible for any student to gather relevent information about all the fields availble, hence, Schools or instituation always is superior in deciding good field for the students. Although this is definitely true, but in todays advance age students are exposed to all sorts of required information by internet. Usually most of the students do their research, get information from communities and also compare different fields of study for selecting.

So, based on the context described above we can say that Educational institution can definitely add values in deciding the correct field for the student. But it cannot be generalized and in some case could lead to an adverse impact for student's career. Schools should give the consulting recommendation but students should be allowed to choose their field of interest.