Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while other believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports

Competition is innate in human in all sphere of life so as in game for athletes. Nothing can give more pleasure or motivation than sounds of claps after winning to an athlete. Competitive games drive athletes to perform their best which indeed is the source of alacrity for them to practice hundreds of hours.

Importance of competition for athletes is no less than the importance of stage for actors. Like Actors live their true life, learn from their mistakes cheer with comment from Audience when they are on stage, same way one athlete feels thrilling enthusiasm during their performance in the competition. Because competition can only reflects where one stands as an athlete comparing to other. While every athlete play to win, lose can teach bigger lesson to them. With every lose athletes get more determined to outperform his competitors in next game. With this theme of competition and encouragement the and the development of best skill, Olympic has been started in historic time. Athletes still consider Olympic as heaven for them. Because different athletes, who are from different countries, having different level of skills and talents take participation into it. Winning in Olympic means becoming legend in the history of Athletes. Likewise there are different regional , national or international level contests which can help athletes to find their true capability.

Along with fame competition also gives the opportunity to win prize and financial assistance to athletes. For livelihood as well as for preparation athletes need the financial enablement that sometimes is the most trying part of their life. When athletes know that winning the competition can financially help them then they get motivated and practice really hard to give their best. If there is no such game or contest then athletes might not get motivated. Even in financial crisis they might want to look for other profession.

Additionally, competition gives the platform to athletes where,even if they can not win, they can learn a lot from others. Failure gives bigger lesson than success. If one athlete practice alone and never attempts for any competition then he might think himself to be the best athlete in the world whereas the reality could be different. Athletes get highly determined with every lose as a result they give their best to better perform next time.

In contrast, some people might argue that all athletes are not good in game and any competition discourages them. There is no doubt that no one feels happy after loosing any game, but it can never be discouraging. At least for them who posses the sportsmanship spirit. It might happen that someone could not perform well in some occasions. It can not be true always. If athletes utilize the learning from their mistakes, upgrade their skill, investing more time in practice then they can certainly do better over time.

So, competition can never be discouraging for any athletes rather the best platform to self- judgment. Participating in competition and winning is dream for every athletes. While competition can be reason of pre-occupation for those athletes who are not accustomed with the gaming environment, they can certainly do better and get encouraged if they learn from their mistake.