Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the ext

According to the claim, the writer had ignored few points which might go against him. The frequent changes in leadership don't allow the leaders to develop a full understanding of system's value and to set a rapport with his colleagues. If a administrator is successful in achieving organization's goals then leadership change is unnecessary. However the author is quite true in the matter of innovativeness. New leader could offer a new groundbreaking in his ideas. He works with great vigor to fulfill his duties. Hence leadership changes are good as far as the organization is getting good advantages out of it.

On the one hand, if an existing leading is doing well, then it's not necessary that be should step down after 5 years. As far as he is achieving the organization's or system's goals he should be allowed to continue hold the power after 5 years. For instance, as a school principal, if he is triumphant in setting good discipline in addition to excellent academic and extracurricular performance in the students, he must be allowed to continue his service even after the 5 years terms. Moreover, If a leader serves his organizations for a long time period then he must be having a profound understanding of the system's core functional values, missions and goals. This understanding will obtain for him in taking decisions which will be the most beneficial for his operation. Besides that a new leader requires some time to completely understand its organizations principles, beliefs and goals. Therefore his decisions may not be coinciding with institution's needs. If he has spent half of the entire service period of five years in understanding system' s values then the time left for converting these understanding in to making decisions will be very less.

Furthermore, a leader can never succeed in achieving his goals without the support of his organization. He has to win the confidence of his people. To set a rapport with his people he needs to spend a quiet long time in the system because people just cannot accept readily a newly elected leader no matter how competent he is. Hence in a short period of five years it will be quiet difficult for any newly elected leader to establish an accord with his people and hit success.

On the other hand, the author's view is quite appropriate in the view of innovativeness in the ideas and decision making. A new leader thinks differently than his predecessor. He may find the solutions to the existing problems of the system in a different and more efficient way. For example, the newly elected governor of Da Nang city, which is central coastal city in Vietnam and famous for travelling however the city faced a problem which the beggar usually interrupt the visitor to get money that the thing his predecessor failed to achieve , brought some changes in adopting the policies which include making home for homeless people and do not allow any vagrant people disturb foreign visitor especially in the most tourist attractions. The legislation have been proved highly successful through the increase of revenue and quantity of visitor for the city. Moreover, a newly elected leader is driven by spirit of obligations. As a result, he works with tremendous vigor and dedication. This vigor and determination might be missing in the leaders who have spent several periods in the organization. The ennui of the job generally causes a decrease in the dedication and interest for the job. This can be hamper the decision making ability of the leader which will ultimately reflect in organizations poor performance. Hence to invigorate the system with a fresh breeze of ideas leadership changes are bound to be made.

In conclusion , the writer in making his claim has neglected few points which might go against him. The frequent changes in leadership don't allow the leaders to develop a full understanding of system's value and to set a relationship with his peers. If a leader is successful in achieving the goal aims of operate then leadership changes is unnecessary. But the author is quite true in case that new leader could bring innovativeness in ideas with him and great vigor to fulfill his duties so it leads to that organization is getting good benefits.