Studying foodways – what foods people eat and how they produce ,acquire,prepare,and consume them-is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

What will a person choose to do if they want to know deeply about a culture from a foreign country? Some people have asserted that studying foodways following from the way of acquirement the food to the way of consuming them, which is the best way to gain a deep understanding of a culture. Although it is unquestioned that cuisine is one of the most factors as a representer of national culture, I believe that there are still many aspects we could learn or observe to know more about a culture.

On the one hand, culture takes into account the general thought process of people, the kind of lifestyle that they follow on a day to day basis. Some countries might have stronger religious influences than the other one or those who do not follow any religion. For instance, in Asia, my country, Vietnam, even my country have been opening the gate to globalize which leads influx many religious from the other country, however, our main religion is Buddism which nearly 90% population follow. Thus when the foreigner come to visit my country, they would be impressed by our habit which we usually going to the pagoda to praise for many things from the health to economic and we praise our ancestor to have good fortunes.

In additions, people could find out the culture of a nation from their architecture. One of the most explicit example to prove this factor that The Notre Dame Church which we could not ignore one of the most iconic symbols of Paris or France is over 200 years old. For this moment, there are still many pictures on the roof of the church many scientists still have questions where they came from.

On the other hand, food is an essential component of life so food is likely to hold the underlying truths about the kind of lifestyle that the general population follows. For instance, in Vietnam, our main restaurants which people usually come are street vendors which is really popular in my country because it is convenient, delicious and cheap for almost citizen that is why although much fast food chains like Mc Donnals or KFC invested so much money to penetrate the local market, finally it results in that these companies have to leave. And on the reason is they have not studied the habit of eating in Vietnam so they fail to meet the demand of Vietnamese. However, studying the foodways just gain essentially understanding of the cultures of the states, If people want to know deeply about that culture, they need to combine many factors from everything around from the way the behavior or greeting to their belief. Therefore, this process needs a long time period.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that studying foodways is a good option to comprehend a culture. Nevertheless, I believe that it is not the best way and if a person wants to gain deeply of cultural values of a region, he needs to study more about the general lifestyle, general views, general art patterns and combine these things to have a comprehension of cultural values that region holds.