Studying foodways – what foods people eat and how they produce ,acquire,prepare,and consume them-is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

Are we really able to understand different cultures solely based off on food? While some would say studying foodways, specifically how foods are prepared, acquired, and produced aides in our understanding of a culture, others would state the diverse world is rather learned through other experiences as well. Although learning about food can be beneficial in aspects in understanding a part of such a culture, it is not enough to understand the in-depths of it. Thus, a wide variety of people across the globe are traveling with the mindset of personal growth but also to experience the world through their own lens.

One example of surely declaiming one has gained an understanding of that culture is the mindset for exposure. For instance, Sujin Kang is notorious for leaving her normal life behind in Korea to pursue her career as a prima ballerina at the Stuttsgart ballet company. Arriving at such a young age, she was of course felt lost due to her inability to speak German along with her lack in understanding of their culture. Culture can be defined as something more than food, and can also mean historical events, economic status, political stance, personal values, etc. After several years of adjustment, she began to understand the different values Germans have regarding living style, personality, tone, etc. She was able to do so with interaction with her company dancers. Although she may have been able to gain knowledge of German’s culture without the help of other people, with the interaction and bonds she was able to form, she was also able to much appreciate the people as her beneficent.

Those that would argue that studying foodways is the best way to gain a deep understanding of a culture has a fair point in the statement. Food is something that is continuosly evolving and developing while still bearing onto historical roots of their own. It is also an element of culture that unifies individuals together regardless of the race. For example, Thanksgiving is a significant holiday in the United States, which brings importance in the early pioneering days to bring people together and is normally celebrated with families. However, a thanksgiving that celebrates friends also called friendsgiving has been rising and is popular among young adults. Young adults, especially college students, coming from different ethical and racial backgrounds join together and bring food they believe stands a symbol in their culture. By introducing the dishes, they are able to joyously connect with one another which is quite different from simply having a conversation. Thus, food plays a partial role in helping our ability to understand a culture.

Ultimately, it is difficult to say culture is most understood through only food. Truly if anything, it is the bodily experience physically and mentally in going to places one has not been able to experience. By doing so, it opens their eyes up to different ideas they might not have perceived or realized before to be important. Thus, it makes them culturally aware of the world they are living in.