The following is from a recent email by the diord corp. Human resources manager. "TObor technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick as they do for physical illness. In addition the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counselling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord corp has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counselling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause and increase in productivity.

The argument that states by introducting a better insurance plan and counseling program is not entirely logically convincing, because it based simply on assumptions. In fact, the inaccurate reasons are based on three logical errors.

First, the argument assumes that Tobor Technologies are credential enough to firmly state they have found that mental health problems and mental illness were found in about 15% of employees being sick. However, this brings doubts about the company by considering have they been accredited for making this type of conclusion. The statement should have been provided with statiscal information to at least provide some degree of support. Additionally, the compant name includes “technologies.” This makes it automatically difficult to believe in their insight into the scientific community, specifically mental health problems. Furthermore, they seem like a company based around technology. Thus, because they lack credibiltiy in the field of psychiatrics, they are not to be deemed worthy to find that 15% of employees have been sick.

Moreoever, the argument addresses the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to scheudle confidential counseling appointments. From a reader’s perspective, maybe the psychologist is validates; however, it does not validate the fact that the confidential counseling appointments have been actually tested out prior to using it on the employees. Thus, how can they assume it is actually helping the employees. One can easily assume the employees felt better if they were alleviated from the stress followed from work by having some amount of time, such as 2 to 3 hours away from it. Because the passage never shows scientific validation that proves the confidential counseling appointments have gone through research trials, it is inaccurate to say that the confidential counseling appointments were crucial in decreasing the number of sick days.

Mentioned as a second idea like the confidential counseling appointments stated above, the company also suggests a insurance plan that reiceves the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. Again, they do not bring in statsitcal and factual information that supports that the new insurance plan is benefiting the employees. It could have never been the fact that the insurance plan was the issue, and even if it had worked for 10% percent of the population, the rest of the 5% has to be considered as well. IF the new insurance is better, it questions why have not the other 5% improved in reports of employees calling in sick. Furthermore, because the statistics in imporved employee absentee is 10% out of 15% it is false to claim the company should introduce a similar insurance plan and couseling program.

This analogical arugment is not completely sound due to the lack of evidence or so called assumptions that surrounds the conclusion. The most signifcant flaw about the conclusion the company has made is there ck of scientific and statistical evidence. They have not shown prior trials in using the metod of confidential counseling appointmetns nor have they explained if tobor technologies is even considered accredited to conclude a certain percentage of mental illnesses. From the name including “technologies” it is automaticall conveyed as a technoloical company. In addition, because only 10 out of 15 % were well off from the couslein system and new insurance plan, the evidence is not enough to introduce a similar insurance plan and couseling program to the company in consideration of the employees health. These three arguments further concludes the inaccuracy in their findings that they most possiblt assume wil reduce employee absenteeism and increase productivity.