Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

One of the most essential factors which contribute to thriving for a country is the political leader 's view. When some people assert that government must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise, there is another opinion that these leaders need have the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. From my point of view, I believe that the political leaders' objectives must be concerned towards the welfare of the people but they need to stick some certain principles and objectives which make them get esteem from people.

On the one hand, political leaders who adhere to a cause are venerated by the people and they become the center of attention. They are deemed as heroes by the people who in many ways try to emulate their behavior and consider them as their role models. Therefore, sticking to a particular cause often gains acclaims for the political leaders and they become icons in due course of time. For example, Ho Chi Minh, who is one of the most influent political leaders in Vietnam's history, always had a consistent belief that Vietnam would be an independent country throughout his lifetime and has achieved success too when he made a declaration of Independence of his country in September 1945. Moreover, a leader is shaped up by his principles and objectives. At any point in time, if he changes his beliefs, then it will mar his position in society and create chaos because people will not be able to discern his real character. Thus, a political leader creates an idiosyncrasy for himself and marches toward the path of success.

On the other hand, political leaders who have the advanced thought that never comprises the principles are considered to be credible and they can be trusted to eradicate the miseries of the people. The political leaders have to have the skills to critical thinking and listening to the desires of the people, it would result in avoiding the biases and gain more trusts from society. For instance, these days we have known that there are many types of genders in society especially the LGBT community which is the most community concerned, although there is still many countries or many political leaders having various opinions and disagree to adopt those who are in this community could be married, the USA in one of the first countries allow to adopt same-sex marriage which is a milestone in political history which obtained so much the agreement from society. In addition, in exigent cases where no other alternatives exist, we may have to change the principles so as to suit the needs of the current population. It is true to a certain extent that there is absolutely futility of keeping a principle which no longer does hold valid. As times are changing, the principles need to be changed. An effective leader is one who considers multiple points of view regarding a policy change, analyses their pros and cons, and finally arrives at a decision on whether to really manipulate the existing laws.

In conclusion, an effective leader in any society is identified by his commitment toward principles and objectives; it creates a clear picture of leader and engenders trust on him in the minds of the people. He who stubbornly adheres to his belief is sure to create impressions in the annals of the nation's history. Though the leaders can afford to change the principles sometimes, it must never go against his established motives that define his character. Therefore, great political leaders are always those who have flexibility in thinking but also have an established set of opinions.