People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The term "behavior" is quietly easy to describe. In general, "behavior" means how a person acts or reacts according to the external or internal forces. Thus, there is a statement that these external forces having solely constituted our behavior. Although it is no doubts that these forces play a vital role in making up our conduct, I believe that it is highly unjustified to say that.

On the one hand, human beings are the most intelligent species, have the liberty of choice and we can think, decide and execute things. Our decision and actions are made by our self. However, outside factors such as society, law, peer, family, etc, contribute to human behavior. History shows many flaw people were the product of these influences. For example, those people who live in the 1990s would still remember Linsey Lohan, a kid actress for Disney Production, she was considered as a young talented actress and nominated for best actress in a drama, however when she got fame and fortune, she had been degraded by these things, her career gradually went down and she committed to drug addiction. Nevertheless, there are some external factors such as laws, rules, and regulations in society were adopted because of practical purposes, but it depends on those who whether to abide by rules or not. For instance, in Singapore, there may be a punishment for throwing garbage on the road or smoke in the public places, nonetheless, thanks for these rules this nation has obtained many advantages such as it is one of the most hygiene countries all around the world and attracting more and more visitors.

On the other hand, in the end, it is completely dependent on us to make the decisions as we are our decision-makers. In this case, the sense of individual will come into crucial play. Although the rules, laws and outer forces continuously remind us against doing bad or illegal, there are people who break laws, which is evident by the crime rate, thus, what are the effects of external force on such people? They have decided not to let the external forces determine their behavior. A thief will steal in spite of the laws in society. Many argue that their actions resulted from poverty, circumstances, etc, but it is eventually the thief who makes the decision. As a result, you can only be responsible for your own attitudes and behaviors.

In conclusion, the above statement is not entirely proper. Although we have to face many external forces and I suppose that we are affected by them, human beings take the responsibility of whether letting or not these effects. So, I firmly believe that our action springs from our free will accord with common sense and everyday experience.