People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Sometimes, we question to ourselves: what really determine the attitude and behavior we possess? Is it the society that determine our character or is it the situation we face? Here, the prompt claims strongly that immediate situation is more likely to determine our attitude rather than the society. However, in my view, mostly disagreeing to the author of prompt, society is more responsible to build up the attitude we have. In defense of my thesis, two evidence have been provided and a concession is noted out which elucidates the scenarios where my thesis may be subverted.

Firstly, the attitude developed in an individual is culmination of how his behavior is shaped by society over the course of time (from birth to the present time he is living in). Attitude of an individual is highly contingent on the society he lives in because society is the institution belongs when he first enter to the world. From then on, it is society which teach him all the values he must possess to be a social being and to be essential part of the community. For instance, an individual born in an Indian culture is taught about his custom, tradition and values so that attitude he possess will have positive effect in society.

Secondly, the attitude, we possess from the society, is forever ingrained in our conduct and efforts. In other words, no matter how the current situation may be, our inured attitude hardly changes. In the time of critical situation, the way we react to the situation is highly determined by the entrenched attitude we possess from society. For instance, a person who have biased view about black community will never accept black person. Even if he is saved by black person, he will have biased view towards black community.

Admittedly, in some cases, our infixed attitude may change dramatically. Specially, some critical cases, which affect us deep inside, coerce us to take different route than we might have taken.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy verdict on what determine our eccentric attitude. But, looking at this topic based on current understanding and evidences provided above, the society is more likely to determine our attitude rather than immediate situation.