Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

In contemporary scenario, debates regarding free education have never been higher before as it is today. Here, the author of the prompt explicitly suggests the government to offer free of cost for higher education. I mostly agree with the author's recommendation and defend my thesis based on two compelling arguments with evidences in support of the prompt and a qualification regarding why the thesis is weakened in some scenarios.

Firstly, the cost based education system leads to exponential increase in tuition cost and upsurge in student loan. This not only affect quality of life of graduate student but also seriously hinders national economy. In USA, for instance, there has been more than two hundred percent increase in student loan in past three decades and currently, the student loan has increased more than one trillion. The increase in tuition cost and student loan is due to the obligation for achieving higher education to climb the ladder in the job market.

Secondly, free education system in any country is indicator of thriving nation both economically and socially. Free education releases the burden from the student and channel their energy more on study rather than taking stress about their cost for tuition. For instance, the countries like Norway, Finland, Germany and Spain, have higher index for development such as GDP, unemployment rate, per capita income, and even happiness index. However, in the countries where cost of education is higher, they fall below these country. So, education more or less helps to develop the socio-economic index of any nation.

However, in some senarios, the costly education as shown some positive result as well. The top ten university in the world is mostly dominated by USA and UK, mainly due to the fact that they are able to pay erudite professors higher salary and also are competent in research field. This shows that in some scenarios however, the high cost do have some positive consequences.

In conclusion, the prompt is complex and has several factors to determine whether it is good or bad. But, judging at consequent of different government taking free education policies, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. So I would like to suggest government to make policy for free education.