Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Who should be the judge for perfectly evaluating a task performed in any field? Here, the author of the prompt advocates that experts are rightful and suitable to judge any type of work and judgement from lesser experts is superfluous. At the first glance it might be tempting to support the author however; i mostly disagree with the author's contention and defend my thesis based on two arguments. I also present concession when my theisis may be dramatically subverted in certain scenario.

Firstly, glancing at our glorious history of science, inventions and discoveries were mainly achieved by normal people rather than "expert" in that field. Even in past, critical judgement of expert, about new discoveries by fledgling inventors ,proved to be wrong in many instances. For instance, Albert Einstien rediculed the quantum theory to be unjustifiable but later admitted that he was wrong. Ironically, previously Newton --discoverer of Gravitational law-- was proved wrong by Albert Einstien after postulating special theory of relativity. So, retrospecting our history we get similar instances where judgement from the expert was presumptious.

Secondly, so-called "experts" tend to be dogmatic viewer and critic because of the knowledge they have acquired over the course of time. So, while making critical judgement the "experts" in field may judge the work on the basis of his ideology rather being objective. If the work aligns with his ideology then he champions the work but if the work is against his belief then he denigrades the work. For instance, when Gallelio, contrary to standard belief, asserted that sun is center of solar system not earth, experts of that time rediculed him because the idea did not matched with their own ideology. This proves that experts have ideology and their judgement is based on the ideology they inherit.

Admittedly, in some cases however, expert judgement is crutial. In scenario where there are limited experts in the field then critical judgement of those few experts is necessary. It is because the work could have negetive consequences and experts in the field can easily detect it.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy verdict. But, glancing at juxtaposition of both opposing view, over reliance for expert in critical judgement does not hold water in most of the cases.