To understand the most important characterstics of society, study its city.

There has been many debates on importance of city in understanding culture of any country or state. Here, prompt asserts that studying urban area of any state is the best way to understand unique characterstics and culture of the soceity of that nation. However, I mostly disagree with this statement and claim my thesis is persuasive by two main premises.

Most of the city area are similar in appearance and experiences. It is manly because people tend to migrate from less developed rustic part of world to more affluent, highly prospective and urban part of world, which not only result in amalgam of eclectic cultures in urban areas, but also coerce city authority to expand the area to accomodate the immigrant, thereby destroying in cultural heritages. For instance, in city area of India, the unique characterstics of conventional Indian culture: cultural dress of India, uniquely Indian dance called Vratyanityam, are overshadowed by modern society, representing queit different and intermingled culture, which is actually similar in most of the big cities around the world. So, If we are totally blindfolded and placed in two different cities, and then allowed to open our we don't really know the difference because of sundry of multicultural people.

In fact, villages and small towns actually show characterstic of society of any state. It is because of reason that there is no effect of migration like it happens in bigger cities due to the fact that they are less developed than urban cities. For example, if you want to know about Indian society, you must visit village area where conventional and traditional practises still prevails. Cultural dance, monuments, arts, language, songs, etc are not only preserved in small villlages and town in India but also, the practise is still going on till date. So, small towns and villages render the society of state more than any other grand cities, due to unsullied nature of rustic culture and tradition.

However, in some cases, urban area focuses more on the culture and tradition of place, only in those cities, where cultural heritages and monuments are preserved by state. For instance, in Kathmandu city, there are 5 World heritage sites which are protected by not only UN but also by state. There are palaces, arts, idols, monuments, scripts, architectures and many traditional items which directly reflect on overall tradition of Nepalese society. By protecting cultural sites, the city is able to be uniquely different than other one and thereby, be epitome of characterstic of the particular society.

In conclusion, most of the city, because they are similar due to multi-cultural diversity, becomes less prominent area in order to get clear picture of overall characterstics of any nation or culture.In other hand, if the cultural heritages are protected by city administration, in this case, it becomes important venue to study overall culture of society. So the topic is quiet contingent on various factor for choosing which side holds more water and which side holds less.