Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Whether the wilderly area has to be protected ,or should be used for developing infrastructure is subject of moot. Here, the prompt advocates categorically that wilderly area should be used for economic development. I mostly disagree with this statement due to following two reasons and qualification why in some cases wilderly area has to be altered.

Firstly, local governement should make attempt to convert the wilderly area into tourism site so that,in doing so, not only these area can be prevented from destruction but also, significant economic development in the area can be achieved. Making these unsullied area accessible to tourist (mostly researchers), will help to increase employement opportunity in local level and thereby, helping in economic development.

Secondly, various environmental degradations are resulted from destruction of the wilderly areas and this may even result in appalling consequences on economic sector.When the area is destroyed for building infrastructures, wildlife habitats are also destructed as well which may result in extinction of rare wild flora and fauna. Also,in addition to these interrelated effect such as increase in air and water pollution and lack of free space other than concrete jungle, this may even lead to health problem on people which indirectly effect economic status of people.

Admittedly, however, there are some cases where the wilderly area need to be rejuvenated by humans in order to prevent some harsh future effects. For instance, desertification need to be halted, even if it is in wilderly state, because it not only destroy ecosystem but also effect significantly on economy of the state. Dams and landslides protection structure has to be built to overcome flood and landslides.

So in these critical case, it is suitable that the wilderly area should be changed in order to prevent collosal damage in future.

Consequently, the final verdict is yet to be establish on whether to preserve or destroy the wilerly area. But as it stands, preserving these unsullied area prove to be more profitiable.