"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the planning department of a power company, the author concludes that electricity demand will not increase and existing power plants are enough to supply the existing demand. The author has drawn the conclusion based on two premises: survey about the attitude of home owners towards energy conservations and promotion of companies towards marketing energy efficient devices. Before complete evaluation of the contention can be made the author of the argument must justify following three assumptions with evidences.

Firstly, the author of the original argument makes premature assumption that the several recent surveys which showed an increased eagerness of the home owners in conserving energy are authentic and representative of most of the home owners in the city. The surveys might be giving misleading information about the home owners. For instance, it is possible that survey is conducted in only few households of specific location. For all we know, the participants of survey may have given their false opinion regarding their eagerness on energy conservation for the sake of reputation. If any of the above scenario have any merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is seriously flawed.

Secondly, the author fallaciously assumes without any evidence that electricity is mostly used by home owners for heating purpose. This might not be the case. May be, they use electricity for irrigation purpose. What if the home owners use electricity to run other appliance like computer and laptops and use heating devices less as it proliferate the electricity bills. If above cases are true then argument does not hold water.

Finally even if above two assumptions are justified with sufficient evidences, the author makes premature assumption that the hydroelectric plants will follow previous twenty years trend and continue to provide enough electricity to sustain the city's electricity demand. For instance, three power stations are in verge of collapse and maintenance is required for continuation. If this is true then the conclusion is severely flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is several flaws and holes due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. However, if the author is able to provide enough evidence regarding three aforementioned assumptions, then only full evaluation of the conclusions drawn from the original argument: the demand of electricity will be low in coming years and three power stations are sufficient.