The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memo concludes that the northeastern United Stated will experience an increased demand in heating oil due to a weather pattern and population growth. While this argument sounds reasonable, at least three pieces of evidence need to be provided in order for it to hold water.

First of all, the author assumes that the occurrence of below-normal temperatures is a sufficient condition for a need in increased heating. However, we do not have enough information about the weather pattern. It is possible that the temperature only fell 0.5 degrees lower than normal, which would not be a change radical enough for the households to use more heating oil. If this pattern only reflects such a trivial change in temperature, the argument for the probable increased usage of heating oil would be significantly weakened.

Moreover, the author does not provide enough data on the current heating oil consumption in northeastern United States. A few questions are to be considered here. First, while the oil was being used traditionally as a fuel, is it still the case? It is possible that people now are choosing other sources for heating, such as coal or solar power. Second, how did the change in weather pattern influence the oil consuption during the last heating season? It might be the case that it did not grow regardless of the colder weather, for instance, due to economic recession. If the current usage of oil is plummeting or remains the same, it would weaken the argument for the increased demand.

Even if two of the aforementioned assumptions will be supported by evidence, there would be still an another problematic assumption left in this memo. More evidence is needed that the construction of more houses will lead to an increase in heating oil consumption. It is possible that other ways to preserve heat are implemented during the constuction. For example, the houses may be better insulated, or a centeral heating system might be developed for them. If the new households will not rely on oil as much as the old ones, the growth of population would not be a ground for an increased heating oil consumption.

All in all, while the argument sounds reasonable, it does miss a number of key pieces of evidence needed for the argument to hold water.