Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompts suggests that a work in any given field only merits value if it is proposed by an expert in that sphere. I mostly agree with this thesis for two main reasons.

First, the knowledge and skills required to produce a given work can only be sufficiently and holistically evaluated by an expert in the same area. For example, one can admire an aesthetically pleasing piece of furniture, however, only a person with an acumen for woodwork would be able to fully appreciate the amount of skill and training needed to produce a given piece.

Moreover, an expert community not only needed to evaluate the professionalism of a work’s author, but also to properly analyze the quality of a given work. For instance, if a new vaccine is developed, the medical community is to implement a number of procedures and reviews in order to evaluate the safety and health benefits of the proposed treatment. While the public might be vary of getting treated with a new drug, people at large do not possess enough professional knowledge to act as disinterested judges on the matter.

However, the public in general is an interested party which gains benefits from the processes of production. Maybe the most illustrative example for the role the public plays is contemporary art. This is one area where the expert evaluations depart greatly from the public ones. While many people argue that contemporary art is completely bogus, the experts tend to have ways to spotlight the quality artistic work. Nonetheless, art has a role to play in the society, so does it really fulfill its purpose when people do not understand what they are looking at? On the other hand, one can imagine a co-existence of an art valued highly by the experts and the publicly acclaimed works as well.

All in all, an expert opinion is needed to properly evaluate the knowledge and skill put into a given work, as well as the quality of the produced piece. However, public opinion should be taken into account in cases when the public has an interest in a given work.