The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The sender of this letter has recommended the school board in the town of Centerville to make driving a mandatory course program - sponsered by the high school, not by themselves. He strived to shore up his argument by citing that in the past two years several accidents were observed - especially relating to the teenager drivers. Although the premises supplied by the sender of this letter might be credible, the assumption and the finally derived conclusion are utterly skeptical due to lack of many hard facts in this letter.

In the letter, the sender explicitly mentions that in the past couple of years, several accidents in and around the Centerville have teenager drivers. Nevertheless, he has not accorded the necessary information about several factors - like status of road in the Centerville, traffic rules, status of vehicles etc. Without information about these issues, it is really challenging to make any adjudication. There may be a situation, for example, where parents ride new vehicles and the children are given with the old vehicles; in this context, the higher accidents related to teenager is obvious. Similarly, it not fair to blame only teenagers for the accidents; unmaintained roads, improper traffic management might also be the reasons of those accidents. Clearly, for a robust argument the sender of this letter should supply the answer of question like " What is the status of the road in the Centerville?.

Similarly, the sender has not supplied any information about high schools' financial, or other, strength to conduct such program. There might be a situation where the schools can't run such programs, or won't show interest to conduct program. Without knowing the sentiment of the high schools, it is not just to assume that high Schools authorities would be easily agreed to run such program which adds extra financial burden to them. Thus, "what is the opinion of the high schools regarding this program?' is the another question whose answer is exigent to prop up letter sender's argument.

Likewise, the sender of this letter unfairly assumes that providing driving training by the high schools would be panacea to control those accidents; however, he seems unable to think that accidents are not the result of single factor. He needs to provide extra warrants why he think provide such training would significantly reduce the accidents, even if there are several other factors which affects to cause accidents.

Finally at the end of the day, the argument seems to be utterly skeptical. Answers of the questions raised above needs to be answer to fortify the argument of the letter sender. In present situation this argument deserves no dice on my behalf.