Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Is there any scenario where scandals are also perceived as useful? While some critics in the critical stranding, including author of this argument, might argue that scandals are useful, for they focus our attention on problems in a way that no reformer - or advocate - ever could. However, as far as I am concerned, I believe that scandals might be useful sometimes, yet its not always true: in some cases they are really ruinous to the society.

Those critics who would argue that scandals are useful prefer to give example of Medical education in Nepal. On account of high profit in medical education, many private medical colleges, together with some politicians, started many unethical activities: for example, they started selling student quotas to the wealthier - rather than to the talents. Clearly, Dr. Gobinda KC, senior orthopaedic surgeon of TU teaching hospital, commenced his fast-unto-death protest against these scandals. Finally, he enjoyed huge support from journalists, social media enthusiasts, and the general public. Then what? Government agreed with Dr. KC to amend some fallacious point of Medical Education Act, and agreed to promote merit-based medical education. These days, due to the frequent protest of Dr. KC, there happens many discussions - in private and public spheres - regarding medical education. Therefore, some good things are going to happen, isn't it? Up to this point I also agree with critics. But my reservation is scandals may not always be useful.

In contrast, Scandals are scandals; by definition, scandals are activities for which one deserves no respect. Then there is not absolute chance for them to be useful: sometimes they are ruinous too. Lokman Singh Karki, the chief commissioner of Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority, was found to be involved in several scandals in recent days. Many people raised their voice; nobody, including the government, heard public, however. Finally, as Karki is among most powerful figure in Nepal, due to his influence, many people (especially from media) were jailed. Many people and TV programs have been banned, yet Karki is enjoying the comfortable chair as the chief commissioner. In this context, scandals and raising voice against it are proved to be disastrous to many people in Nepal.

Likewise, a former minister, named Khum Bahadur Khadka, in Nepal - who is still popular among general public - became the victim of media scandals. He is perceived as a competent and effective minister. Nevertheless, due to some unknown reasons, he always ignored media interviews, so that media always blamed him for different cases. Although these blames are yet to be proved authentic by the tribunal, the thing is these media scandals favored to degrade the party base of Khadka. He has done good, people also support him, but the medias seem to be enjoying discrediting his reputation.

Finally at the end of the day, it is clear that scandals might be, sometimes, useful in focusing public' attention to solve particular exigent problem. However, its not absolute; in many cases scandals do bad as well. The examples, presented above, are enough to shore up my argument.