The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment has recommended to restrict the water supply by modifying the showerheads operating in its apartment system. In an attempt to shore up his idea he gives the example of its three buildings where the showerheads are already adjusted. However, on meticulous assay, the argument lacks many hard facts which could really fortify it, so that the implicit assumption and the finally derived conclusion sounds utterly skeptical. Hence, before I accede to the recommendation put forwarded by the owner, following concerns raised below should be addressed.

First of all, the owner explicitly mentions that the water supply has been restricted to the one third of the previous level. However, due to lack of water, the apartment renters might abandon the apartment, for water is the basic requirement for daily life. The owner should be wary enough regarding this consequence. Simply, restricting the water supply do not ensure higher profit. Moreover, the owner says that the water restriction program was initiated just a month ago; is not it so haste to conclude based on the experience of merely one month? If he want to thrive in his business, he need to wait for few more months, before making such recommendation, to get reliable and trustworthy data.

Similarly, with no obscurity, the owner mentions that the reading of the water - or the monthly bill - has not been read yet. If the reading is not available yet, then what are the evidences based on which the owner claims that reducing the water supply fuels up the profit? The owner of the apartment needs to make it clear. Similarly, the owner writes that few complaints have been received regarding the low water pressure. The owner do not argue further regarding the consequence of such complaints. These complaint may increase in the days to come and there is a possibility that if the owner do not pay heed to the customers, the customers might leave the apartment leaving the owner bankrupt. The owner should ponder over such future ramifications too.

Finally, and probably more importantly, while reading between the lines, it can be inferred that the owner has unfairly assumed cutting water supply as a best method to boost up his profit; however, there might be several methods to earn higher profit - such as giving more facilities and taking more price, increasing advertisements, and so forth. Nevertheless, the owner is silent regarding why he considered limiting water supply as panacea to earn more profit. The owner should make it clear why he omitted the possibility of other option, as mentioned above, as a method to earn higher profit.

To recapitulate, the argument made by the owner of Sunnyside Towers apartment is rife with chink in armors: it lacks many hard facts to bolster his argument. Therefore, to avoid any run the gauntlets from the manager - who is going to ponder over his proposal - the owner should address above raised concerns, which would make the argument far corroborated than it is standing.