Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does a critical judgement delivered by a non-specialist of any realm really matters? Or, is it always the critical judgement of some erudite that we really value? While few critics might argue that only the judgments coming from some experts are worthy of pondering and the rest are not worth of value, yet many real life experiences prove that these critics are not right. Therefore, my cut-and-dried opinion is that anyone who have knowledge and influence in the given field are given due attention and their judgments are genuinely valued. As such, experts opinion might not always listened, as we generally believe.

Firstly, and probably most importantly, there are several sectors where laymen are more knowledgeable and influential and their opinions are valued more than someone having technical knowledge. In wildlife conservation, for instance, local people are kept at the center of the whole process, irrespective of their education background and expertise. In Chitwan National Park of Nepal, first national park of Nepal which is the prime habitat of endangered one-horned Rhinoceros and Royal Bengal Tiger in Nepal, local people are more influential in conservation, rather than local conservation officials, because local people have more thorough and location specific knowledge of the park. This method of involving people and paying attention to them has resulted betterment in the park to boot; for example, tiger population is 198 today (which is 63% more than 2009) and one horned rhinoceros population is 405 for 445 total Rhinoceros population of Nepal. These people involve in this conservation activities in the form of buffer zone committees and sometimes governmental experts and policymakers themselves go to learn from them.

Finally, as aforementioned, some critics might argue that in real world, only experts' opinions are worthy of value, albeit I disagree. Raghuram Rajan, for example, is the former counselor of IMF, erstwhile Government of Reserve Bank of India and, now, distinguished serving professor of finance at University of Chicago Booth Business School; In 2005 (when he was counselor of IMF) he augured in front of distinguished economists, bankers and businesspersons that a serious financial crisis might be at hand. The surprising thing is no body took him seriously at that time, nobody thought it was a thing worthy to listen; consequently, however, in 2008 financial crisis, his admonition was remembered by all. Again, in 2014, he has warned global financial community that another disastrous crisis, like great depression of 1930, might be coming. The story of this talent does not ends here, Indian government recently declared to demonetize notes of IC 500 and IC 1000 to fight against black money and terrorism; then again, Rajan suggested Indian government that this is not a good idea so much as there are several viable and trust-worthy procedures. But having said that the government moved forward and ignored his suggestions. Thus, the common notion that experts' critical judgments are always welcomed is a fallacious belief.

To recapitulate, it is crystal clear that anybody's judgments and opinions who have knowledge and influences are taken seriously: it may be a layperson as well. In contrast, there is no guarantee that experts' critical judgments and their prospective are invariably valued.