Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

John Nash, a famous and Nobel laureate mathematician, had once said among his friends in the premises of Princeton university that "university education ruins your mind". The movie, "The Beautiful Mind", has simulated this statement to entertain people. Now, how does we take this statement? While many critics might support Nash. However, as far as I am concerned, I adhere to the notion that formal education enhance our mind, and its abilities, so that it ministers to set one free.

Those critics - who support that formal education ruins one's mind- prefer to give example of Einstein as well. Although the sources are not reliable, yet I have seen few people in internet believing that Einstein once said university education restrains one's mind. However, in my opinion, the context in which they (Nash and Einstein) said so might be different and today we don't consider the thorough context and remember the only the single sentence. Before giving the reference of these two great scholars, we should not forget that they loved teaching at university, they loved to teach people. If they had really said so, they had not shown interest in teaching at university. The fact, in my opinion, may be they believed universities and their education are the ultimate to set free one's mind; however, they might have cautioned us that wrong way of teaching-and-learning really ruins students' mind.

Now lets consider the another aspect of the argument that I adhere: formal education sets our minds free. Education is the key to enlighten our mind. Take example of myself. After joining formal education, today, I have knowledge at large: I have knowledge of different realm which makes me different from an uneducated, ignorant person. I understand the way people want to live, I understand people and their culture, and many more. Unlike an uneducated person, I can describe something in a novel way. Once, for example, my uneducated friend was beating his cow, for the cow was not milking. I witnessed the befalling. Then, what I did? I suggested him to call a veterinary doctor. Fortunately, he didn't deny my words and did what I had advised. Finally, a veterinary doctor cured the cow which started milking after the treatment. This is an evidence what formal education can do.

Therefore, at the end of the day, I firmly believe that education makes people open-minded: it sets one's spirit free and allow it to fly high in the sky. The arguments and examples presented above are adequate to shore up what I support.