Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Due to the modern technological transformation, we are getting instant information about whatever is happening around us. The important thing is that in order to comprehend these information, we need reading skills and to express our opinion on these issues, we need writing skills. Without these skills, 21st century will be same as stone age in many respect. Therefore, I accede to the statement and I have following reasons to bolster my position.

First, some technological miracles are part of our daily life these days. It is true that without reading and writing skills, it will be difficult for us to enjoy these technological wizardry. Facebook, for example, is a part of modern day and is a vital part of contemporary mode of communication. In facebook, we may come across many things - like friends posting, photos with caption, message and so forth. And without reading skills, we won't be able to understand these things. In addition, without writing skills we won't be able to give our opinion in such online platforms.

Second, today's world is the world of business which requires a lot of communication for success. In business life, a person requires to send myriads of emails and understand whatever comes as the reply. For example, when I was holding my agriculture business, I used to send many emails daily and get same number of emails. My responsibility was to understand the contents and stay in touch with them. Of course, my business would have been utter failure if I did not have those skills.

Third, this is the age of information and communication. If we diagnose these two terms independently we happen to know that information can not be understood without reading skills and in similar manner communication can not be accomplished without effective oral and writing ability. Take the example of government these days. In past days, it used to handle entire work by pen and paper; however, now everything is handled by computer, email and skype. Therefore, making reading and writing skills as the most important skills these days.

To recapitulate, the reading and writing skills are more important these days. Thanks to technological revolution which discovered many new things for which these skills are quite important. Our modern life is incomplete without these technologies and consequently without reading and writing skills those technologies are of no worth.