Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The reading and writting ablity is important to people in every time. Nowadays, almost every field of human beings is connected with this ablity more intensively. Especially in this information technology era, this basical requirement is put in a more important level than before. I will address my views as follows.

To begin with,the ability to read and write is the fundamental demand for students. Nowadays as for students from China, we were required to learn English from primary school. Thus not only the Chinese we should learn well, the English courses is equally important to us. Due to the development of the society, more and more student study abroad. So the reading and writting is the first ability we should have, both Chinese and English. What's more, at first I was preparing the toefl test, my teacher told me if you want to write a good essay in English, your Chinese writting should be excellent at first, or you can not organize your words cohesively and convincingliy. Thus, the ability is more important than before.

In addtion, We are living in an era which the ability of reading and writting is more important.With the development of the Internet, people would read much more words everyday in front of their screens. Every morning when we take buses or subways to work, people usually take their cellphones to surf the net or chat with friends even their clients. The Information technology has brought lots of convienience to us while most of them were supplied by articles, even the videos are usually with subtitles. Thus if people could not read or write well, they would be failed by the new era.

Finally, someone may say that it is just the convinience that the information technology brought to us makes us to read and write more easily. As there are some applications which could type what you say nearly simultaneously or directly translate your words into other languages. As my concern, we should see the complexity of the radpid changing world. In that people are not easily convinced than before. If you want to argue with others, you should be good at reading and writting which can express your ideas accurately, because all of us could search the Internet to debate with you. Every coin has two sides, so does the Internet.

In all, due to the development of human society, at the same time we are enjoying the advantages of technology, the ability to read and write is more important than in the past.