The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of the Movie Galore, a chain of movie-rental store, recommends to reduce the operating expenses of the movie Galore's ten rental stores. In an attempt to shore up his idea, he gives example of downtown Marston. However, on meticulous assay of this memorandum, the owner fails to provide extra hard facts to shore up his argument, so that the assumption and the final conclusion becomes utterly skeptical. Before I accede to the recommendation put forwarded by the owner, he should address the concerns raised below.

First of all, the manager mentions that the chain business is suffering from decline in profit. In order to reverse it, he claims that raising rental cost is totally impractical. Nevertheless, the owner fails to provide necessary premises based on which he claims so. As he says, his business have good positive reputation in the market, then there might be peoples willing to rent the stores even at high price. Hence, the owner should make clear why he ignores the possibility of increasing the rental cost instead of having good market reputation. In similar contest, he has not given clear premises based on which he recommends to lower the operational cost; he should clarify, if there was any research , or survey, which suggested so.

Similarly, the owner is not clear while giving the example that in downtown Marston he significantly decreased the opening hour of the movie stores. If reducing hours really helps to gain extra profit, why does not he think of reducing this time to further 3 pm in lieu of present 6 pm. Additionally, the owner also claims that the movie store has eliminated the movies that were released 5 years ago. Now I doubt, how a movie hall can have good reputation by displaying the movies released five years before. Hence, the owner should elucidate the hidden logics present in the argument.

Finally, and probably most importantly, the owner unfairly assumes that reducing operational expenditure is cure-all to the current financial woes faced by the movie business. There might have several ways and means of promoting business - like increasing advertisement, appointing some public figures as its ambassadors, and so forth. But, it is not clear, instead of having many cheap and obviously propitious methods, why the owner opted to reduce the operational cost - by reducing the time it opens.

Finally, at the end of the day, the argument, presented by the owner of a movie business, is comprised of many chink in armors. It needs extra hard facts to make it more reliable. However, at the present state, the argument deserve no dice.