The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

The argument puts forward a change of policy and its detrimental implications and concludes that in order to thwart the implications the policy needs to be reverted back. But the reasoning of arguments fails to provide some key pieces of evidence that are needed to evaluate the conclusion.

First of all, the argument doesn't mention the reason for increased time to national news in the first place. It might be the case that the television was losing viewers and resorted to the policy of national news in order to attract a broader audience. The argument also fails to mention the relative viewer change after the change of policy. If the number of viewers has actually increased after the increased national coverage than reverting certainly will not attract more viewers.

Moreover, the argument also doesn't give an account of the complaints that it received. We need to data with respect to the area of complainants and the nature of complaints. If the complainants are mostly located in the local area and their concern is not about the time but about the quality and veracity of the local news than increasing the time rather than quality will not attract more viewers. The argument is also vague in its reasoning for the fact that if the number of complaints after the introduction of the policy has actually changed. We need to know whether most of the complaints before were also concerned with the weather and local news. If the complaints before were also concerning local news than changing the time only may not have any effect on the viewership.

Lastly, the argument doesn't give a clear reason for the cancellation of the advertising partner’s contract. We need to know whether the business was bankrupt or actually canceled the contract due to waning viewership. We also need the account of recent advertising proposals for the television. It may be the case that the local businesses are losing interest for advertisement but more national businesses are interested in the advertisement. If that is the case then decreasing national news coverage won’t stop diminishing revenue but rather may accelerate it.

In conclusion, to implement the manager’s policy more data and evidence is needed about the relative viewer increases, details about the complaints, reasons for advertisement cancellation. Otherwise, the argument does not provide a strong case for reverting back the policy.