In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position:

Most organizations -political, educational, government- has a governing body to function properly. We can call this governing body as those who are in power because the organization is run by the rules and regulations put forth by them. As it is in the nature of human being to formulate rules with respect to owns personal ambitions - either consciously or subconsciously - it is imperative to have a swift change of power at regular interval to preclude too much personalization of the organization.

When in power it is the natural tendency of humans to run according to one's own vision. Before coming to power most individual would have a plan as to how improvement can be done in different sectors of the organization but. As they come to power they start implementing their envisions. After a certain time the implementations complete with successes and failures. And then gradually personal fulfillment and pleasure start to impact the subsequent decisions. The more time passes by, the more decisions gets parochial. They become more venal and starts making decisions which involve less on the future of the organization and more paving the way to remain in power and have personal gain. The prime example of these can be found in the monarchy system itself where almost all of the kings and queens indulged themselves in debauchery during their long reign.

But the most frightening consequence of perennial ruling is not during the start or middle of the reign. It is the retaliation of the rulers when their power is threatened. From the ancient times to present day we can see the brute way tyrants squelch their oppositions. Examples of which includes the Armenian genocide by the ottomans and the most recent Bashar Al Assad's menacing measures against the rebels without any form of caring about the civilians life. They become so desperate to hold the power that their morality becomes a lost cause.

That is not to say that long-term power doesn't have any benefits at all. With long reign, the organizations become more stable and the rulers have a better grip on the nuances of the internals. When there is a constant change of power, new rules might not share the same vision as the previous ones and for that reason, many of the projects started are abandoned in the middle. This type of intermittent abandoning leads to squandering of money and resources. In order to mitigate these a suitable time period has to be chosen and in my opinion 5 years is a good timeframe to implement most of the tasks undertaken.

So, In conclusion, transfer of power in a regular interval is cardinal so that those who are in power don't become corrupt and have the motivation that although short time power may give them impunity they will have to answer in the long term.