There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It behooves us as human beings -leading species of planet earth- to save the species that are in precarious situation, mostly because of our unbridled invasion on their habitat. So, government should take every step necessary to redress this fault.

Most of the endangered species are at that position because of human intervention. With unrestrained hunting, poaching and cutting of trees for the valuable parts of the animal body, like the tooth of the African Elephant or the oil of the Blue Whale, these species rapidly decrease in number and become endangered. Not only hunting, but invasion of humans into the natural habitat also plays overarching role in making an animal species endangered. So it is only fair for us to take every step and precaution to preserve a species whose existence has been threatened by us. Moreover, in some places these species plays an important cultural and social role. For example the endangered Royal Bengal Tiger is the national animal of Bangladesh and also the symbol of the sports teams in Bangladesh. Therefore it is of primal importance for the Government of Bangladesh to take every step to thwart the decrease of tiger population.

Also, most of the time preservation of an endangered species is implemented through a no-hunting zone and wildlife sanctuaries. This type of steps not only preserves the endangered species but also bolster the survival of any species on the verge of becoming endangered. It provides a safe habitat for all the flora and fauna in that area.

Besides from the preservation perspective, wildlife sanctuaries and other measures to protect endangered species actually create jobs. It creates jobs for local population as guides, guards or monitors etc. As a result, projects for wildlife preservation plays an important role in diminishing jobless population. On top of that, endangered species is also a popular tourist attraction. When a species becomes endangered, its value increases and people from different areas of the world revel at the sight of the animal. So, while the statement suggests that protection of endangered species may incur a significant cost of money, if properly managed most of the money can be recompensated with the inflow of tourism money.

In conclusion, we should not take the protection of endangered species as a burden on our shoulder. Rather we should take this as a fair indemnification to the species and also a way to create more jobs in the respective areas.