Movies can tell us a lot about the country in which they were made. What have you learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

It is undeniable that movies are an effective mode of communication. They provides several important information to us which are difficult to get from books or other sources. Therefore, as far as I am concerned, I believe that we can get information about the culture, tradition, custom, technology and so forth by watching movies of a country. Following reasons are to shore up my position.

First, movies are an effective source of knowledge for learning about religious and cultural believes of some countries. Lets take the example of India and Pakistan - two influential countries of South Asia. When we watch Indian movies, or Bollywood movies, we know very easily that India is a Hindu nation, for their movies are highly influenced by Hinduism and the associated culture. Pakistani Movie, on other hand, are highly influenced by Muslim culture, so that one who watch the movie realizes that Pakistan is a Muslim nation.

Second, movies also reflect the dressing habit, and food culture of nations. Different food habits are shown in movies of different countries. When we watch Chinese movie, we see artists - or actors - eating different Chinese foods. In addition, they appear wearing different clothes and practicing Kung fu. However, on the other hand, when we watch Indian movies, we see actors eating Jeri, Samose (Indian foods), wearing dhoti and practicing yoga some times. These are the prefect representation of each countries, is not it?

Moreover, a movies also depicts the technological achievements of countries. The technological height achieved by a country are easy to predict by watching its movie. For example, Nepali movies are simple and depicts pastoral life. In contrast, when we watch some French movie, we see Paris, its development, its mighty army and so forth. From these things, we can easily learn the difference that exists between Nepalese and French technology.

To recapitulate, movies are powerful source of information from which we learn many things - including the culture, custom, technological sophistications of the countries. Often, we clearly find the difference in life style when we watch the movie of different countries. Therefore, I believe there are several things that we can learn from the movies.