Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Are there any scenarios where scandals are also perceived as useful? While some critics, including author of given argument, might argue that scandals are useful, for they focus our attention on problems in a way that no reformer - or advocate - ever could, its not the final truth. As far as I am concerned, I won't deny the some rare positive, and change bringing, efficacy of the scandals, yet its everything but absolute: in some cases they are ruinous to the society to boot. Scandals demand case-by-case assay.

Those critics who would argue that scandals are efficacious might prefer to give example of Medical education in Nepal. On account of high profit in medical education, many private medical colleges, together with some politicians, started many unethical activities: for example, they started selling student quotas to the wealthier - rather than to the talents. Clearly, Dr. Gobinda KC, senior orthopaedic surgeon of TU teaching hospital, commenced his fast-unto-death protest against these scandals. Finally, he enjoyed huge support from journalists, social media enthusiasts, and hoi polloi. Then what? Government agreed with Dr. KC to amend some fallacious points of Medical Education Act to promote merit-based medical education. These days, due to the frequent protests of Dr. KC, there happen many discussions - in private and public spheres - regarding medical education. Therefore, some good news are going to come up, isn't it? Up to this point, I also agree with critics, yet my reservation is scandals may not always be noteful.

In contrast, Scandals are scandals; by definition, scandals are activities for which one deserves no respect. Then there is no absolute chance for them to be useful: sometimes they are ruinous too. Lokman Singh Karki, the chief commissioner of Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority, was found to be involved in several scandals in recent days. Many people raised their voice; nobody, including the government, heard public, however. Finally, as Karki is among most powerful figure in Nepal, due to his influence, many people (especially from media) were jailed. Many people and TV programs have been banned, yet Karki is still enjoying the comfortable chair of the chief commissioner. In this context, scandals and raising voice against it are proved to be disastrous to many people in Nepal.

Likewise, a former minister, named Khum Bahadur Khadka, in Nepal - who is still popular among general public - became the victim of media scandals. He is perceived as a competent and effective minister. Nevertheless, due to some unknown reasons, he always ignored media interviews, so that media always blamed him for different unethical cases. Although these blames are yet to be proved authentic by the tribunal, the thing is these media scandals favored to degrade the party base of Khadka. He has done good, people also support him, but the medias seem to be enjoying discrediting his reputation.

Finally, at the end of the day, it is clear that scandals might be, sometimes, useful in focusing public' attention to solve particular exigent problem. However, its not absolute; in many cases scandals do bad as well. The examples and arguments, presented above, are to shore up my position.