The director of a large group of hospitals recommends to supply UltraClean, an extra strength lequid hand soap, to prevent serious infections in his hospital system. In order to shore up his recommendation, he has given the example of hospital in Worktown where the use of this soap resulted twenty per cents reduction in patient infections. The evidences furnished by the director might be true; however, owing to the lack of many extra hard facts in the memo, the assumption, and the finally derived conclusion sounds utterly skeptical.

First of all, the director explicitly mentions that the test of the UltraClean hand soap was carriedout under controlled laboratory condition: under a certain tempetature, atmospheric pressure, given humidity level, and so forth. The condition outside the laboratory might not be controlled (as in the laboratory), however. From scientific point of view, there might be huge differences between these two conditions. Clearly, the director should not assume that the experiment successfully conducted on controlled environment, fits under the outer - and uncontrolled environment, too. In addition, the director needs to make clear whether the condition of the hospital was also controlled; if it was also controlled, then the recommendation put forwarded by him would be utterly fleet footed before considering many important issues.

Similarly. in the memo, the director has mentioned 40% reduction of infection cases in the laboratory condition, and 20% reduction in the hospital. Nevertheless, without knowing the data, its nature, statistical ways and means applied, it is really challenging to make any adjudication regarding the result. Thirty peoples, for example, might have involved in the experiment - which is everything but reliable and significant from statistical point of view. Hence, the director should make it clear about the way research was conducted, and how it was deconstructed.

Finally and probably most importantly, the director unfairly assume that the same soap, UltraClean, would work in all the hospitals system - which might have dispersed in different cities. Cities X and Y, for example, both have the hospitals. What if city X hospital has already found the better option then UltraClean? Thus, the director would have incorporated the concerns, and issues of other hospitals at boot to further prop up his argument.

Therefore at the end of the day, it is clear that the argument, made by the director, is rife with doubts: which needs extra hard facts to further corroborate it. He should not strive to avoid the concerns raised above for a robust argument . However, at present condition, this argument - in the memo - is not beyond the dispute, and would likely to deserve no dice from the higher officials who are going to debate on this proposal.

The director of a large group of hospitals recommends to supply UltraClean, an extra strength liquid hand soap, to prevent serious infections in his hospital system. In order to shore up his recommendation, he has given the example of hospital in Worktown where the use of this soap resulted twenty per cents reduction in patient infections. The evidences furnished by the director might be true; however, owing to the lack of many extra hard facts in the memo, the assumption, and the finally derived conclusion sounds utterly skeptical.

First of all, the director explicitly mentions that the test of the UltraClean hand soap was carried out under controlled laboratory condition: under a certain temperature, atmospheric pressure, given humidity level, and so forth. The condition outside the laboratory might not be controlled (as in the laboratory), however. From scientific point of view, there might be huge differences between these two conditions. Clearly, the director should not assume that the experiment successfully conducted on controlled environment, fits under the outer - and uncontrolled environment, too. In addition, the director needs to make clear whether the condition of the hospital was also controlled; if it was also controlled, then the recommendation put forwarded by him would be utterly fleet footed before considering many important issues.