The following appeared in a report of the committee on faculty promotions and salaries at Eim City University.

“During her seventeen years as a professor of botany, Prof. Thomas has proved herself to be well worth annual salary of $ 50,000. Her classes are among the largest at the university, demonstrating her popularity among students. Moreover, the mopney she has brought to the University in research grants has exceeded her salaryin each of the last two years. Therefore, in consideration of Prof. Thomas’ demonstrated teaching and research abalities, we recommend that she receive a $10,000 raise and a promotion to department Chairperson; withourt such a raise and promotion, we fear that prof. Thomas will leave Elim City Hospital for another college.

Prof. Thomas, a well reputed botany professor of Elim City University who served the university for last seventeen years, is known to be very popular among students and the scientific community. Due to her contribution to the University and its economic prospect, a special committee on faculty promotions and salaries has recommended to make her salary $ 50,000 and promote her as the chair of the Botany department. Although the committee was probably correct in recounting her contribution to the University, the committee is too quick to assume that the only reward to her contribution is raising annual salaries by $ 10,000 and promoting her as the department head; it has failed to assay specific details about her interest, preference, university’s economic viability, and so forth.

The Committee on Faculty Promotions and Salaries assumes that merely providing extra $ 10,000 annually and a promotion as department head would help to retain Prof. Thomas to the Elim City University. However, along with this assumption there is a presumption this proposal by the University will be easily accepted by Prof. Thomas. The committee report does not discuss explicitly about her personal preferences and the taste. The report clearly states that Prof. Thomas has contributed for huge influx of research grant in the university. Clearly, she might have personal preference to be the research head of the university rather than to be the department head and managing the departmental administration. Perhaps, some other university might have offering more than $ 50,000 to Prof Thomas – more than elim city university: in this context increasing the salary and providing merely $ 50,000 annually might not be satisfactory to her.

Similarly, the committee report gives no any information about the economic viability of the University: whether the University is able to pay annual $ 50,000 to a single teacher. The report does not consider other factors like what, if other professors also demanded to raise their salary to increase by same amount. There might have been many senior professors who might not agree to work below the salary of Prof. Thomas. Therefore, in such situation, for University, it might be difficult to run smoothly as today.

Similarly, the report does not provide any germane information about the department head. What might happen if the existing chair is more talent than Prof. Thomas. The report asserts like Prof. Thomas is academically popular and capable of generating research grant, but department head is a managerial position. She might not be a good manager, although she is a well qualified academician.

There are many specific details that need to be discussed before providing extra annual salary and promotion. Closure study should be done on her personal preferences, offering from other universities , if any, and so many other factors. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if report could have given meticulous information about Prof. Thomas, her personal interest, feasibility of the University, and much else.