The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Sender of a letter, to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, recommends the authority to limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day, during the summer season. He points out that doing so will substantially reduce the number of accidents on the Balmer Island. To prop up his recommendation, he gives an example of a neighboring island - Seaville. However, although premises supplied by him might be genuine, the assumption and the finally derived conclusion are utterly fallacious. Clearly, therefore, many specific details needs to be minutely studied, by the letter sender, before I accede to his argument.

First of all, the sender divulges that the population on the Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. Hence, to reduce the number of accident cases in the island, he suggests to reduce the number of moped - popular form of transportation on the Balmer island - by 50%. However, he fails to supply the reasons that the accidents happening in the island is merely due to the reason of higher number of mopeds. There might be, for example, several infrastructural deficiencies - like narrow roads, lack of footpaths, lack of street lights - due to which there might be higher number of accidents in the island. Without knowing the status of the road, arrangement of footpath (for pedestrians) of proper width, it is quite difficult to accept his conclusion that merely lowering the number of mopeds will considerably plummet the number of accidents. Thus, the argument would have been far stronger, if the sender of the letter had supplied these information.

Similarly, another point of concern is why he is so much concerned only about summer months. There may be several accidents during winter, or spring, days too. He has failed to supply these required evidences, however, before jumping to the conclusion. Likewise, he explicitly mentions that by reducing the number of mopeds by 50% will reduce the number of accident by exactly 50%. Without explaining the type of statistical methods he applied to find-out this result, it is still unclear to accept that his logic is right.

Finally and probably most importantly, the sender falsely assumes that this method, already applied in Seaville island, will be equally effective in Balmer island as well. There might have been several disparities between these two island - like geographical, administrative etc. Without knowing deeper knowledge about these differences - and similarities too, it is hard to claim that the idea will be effective in Balmer island as well.

To recapitulate, it is clear that the argument of letter sender is rife with fallacies. To give thumbs up, he should address many species concerned raised above in the essay. After addressing these concerns, his argument will be much stronger than it is.