The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow t

In the preceding argument, the author states that they have to restrict water flow throughout all the 20 floors and that will increase profits, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states that the first five floors they modified the shower-head to restrict water flows to one-third. Secondly, he claims that there are few complaints about low presure. However, in the first glance could be plausible. Hence, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of questions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, even there is a positive and concrete relation between restricts water usage and higher profits, this does not necessarily indicate conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words, how he concluded the causation? How the strong relation is? perhaps doing this step will force people to move out and find better place. Further, how much are the profits? Perhaps the modification will lead to spend more money. Consequently, the author fails to states a strong causation that led to weaken the argument plus he has to think and answers all the previous questions to boost his case.

Secondly, the largest leap in the argument that the author states the mitigation is done to one-third without actual reading for the current consumption. Thus, the vital question here, from where he knew that this percent will be effective to reduce the consumption and increase profits. Further, is the one -third will decrease the total water usage? Perhaps, without actual awareness they will continue using water as usual and for longer time. Further, how much they used to use? Are all families using the same amount of water? Hence, is it reliable to mitigate the consumption for one-third without plausible information? In sum, a miscalculation would undermine the argument and he has to assess the situation precisely to save water correctly and without bothering the residents.

Thirdly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in using undefined words such as "few complaints" what was the author mean of this word? What is the precise number from the first five floors? Perhaps 4 out of 5 floors are complain. Thus, is it a few number?. Hence, the assumption lack a depth of details that would help to evaluate the significant of the argument.

All in all, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumptions equivocal. Hence, without answers for all the questions the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.