Typically, as people age, their bone mass decreases, making them more vulnerable to bone fractures. A recent study concludes that the most effective way to reduce the risk of fractures in later life is to take twice the recommended dose of vitamin D and c

In the preceding argument, the author claims, humans by getting older are more prone to bone fractures because of decreasing the bone density. The conclusion is based in the premises. Firstly, the author citing a study concluded by taking supplements like twice dose of vitamin D and Calcium daily, will reduce risk of having fractures. Secondly, citing another new study on a group of french old adult women were living in nursing home residents taking double dose from vitamin D and Calcium, with quotidian light physical activity that mitigate the hip fractures incidences among them. However, as more light is shed on the argument and more detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies in its assumptions as well as commits a false analogy.

To begin with, as mentioned in the argument by citing a study about the cardinal effects of taking double dose from vitamin D and calcium to strengthen bones is not reliable, due to myriad factors such as, firstly, taking these supplements without mentions the ages is a big mistake, in other words, ages play a crucial role in the absorption such materials. For example, the supplements absorption for the mid ages are more than the old adult people, due to presence such a good media for that. So, taking it is not plausible, particularly with the same dose for every age. Moreover, the second vibrant cause is the gender, for further illustrations, there are different chemical compositions between male and female. For instance, in female there are Estrogen and Progesterone as sexual hormones responsible to ameliorate the absorption, while these hormones unavailable in males. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated more details about the study, like age, gender, diet, lifestyle, and diseases.

In addition, the argument is much weakened by re-citing a new study about group of french women in their 80s decade, were living in nursing home. The first flaw is taking a small group from the same age and from the same country to generalize the data over wider segment of people. The second flaw is living in organize place like the nursing home does not reflect the actual lives, that the ordinary people live. In deed, the nursing home has a protocol for serving these people. Thus, if the argument had provided evidences about the second study then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author states because of taking twice dose of supplements and doing light physical activities the French women will get lower risk of broken hip bones among their age. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, what is the rule of the lab tests? are all the French women need the same dose in spite of, the supplement over dose toxicity? what kind of exercises they do?what is the weightlifting that the old adult can bear? how they conclude the result after three years? what about the morbidity and mortality rate among the 80s year old?Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable studies of the vitamin D and Calcium consumption. Finally, to better evaluate the argument it would be necessary to know more information about the previous assumptions.